THE ORIGINS OF RALLY RAID

When desert raids and rallies first started they both used the same machine: the trailbike

When Thierry Sabine got lost in the Libyan desert in 1977 and had the revelation that would become the Paris-Dakar he was riding a Yamaha XT500. Hubert Auriol set off a year later aboard a BMW GS. Tenere, Africa Twin, GS… the first pages in the history of rally raid were written using the ‘humble’ trailbike.

Since that time in Africa the development of trail bikes and rally raid have followed parallel pistes. The Trail Desert Challenge sees those pistes join up again.

Alongside the Rallye du Maroc at the start, at the marathon bivouac and at the finish, the Trail Desert Challenge will share the safety cover and professionalism of the team David Castera has built around him.

The precise route of the Trail Desert Challenge will be provided to participants via the ‘plug and play’ electronic road book, guiding participants for five days through ancestral Morocco. From the men of the Atlas mountains to the nomads of the desert, via the tracks of the ancient caravans, you’ll encounter fascinating people and see extraordinary scenery.

Our team and the constructors will be by your side, on the piste to accompany you whatever your level of experience. Whether you’ve come to experience your first African raid or are chasing victory via the daily challenges, the Trail Desert Challenge is made to measure for you, so that you can all share the adventure.

The renaissance of the spirit of raid…back in the place where it all began.

From 4 to 9 October 2018, come and write the next pages in the history of trailbikes.

THE ORIGINS OF RALLY RAID

When desert raids and rallies first started they both used the same machine: the trailbike

When Thierry Sabine got lost in the Libyan desert in 1977 and had the revelation that would become the Paris-Dakar he was riding a Yamaha XT500. Hubert Auriol set off a year later aboard a BMW GS. Tenere, Africa Twin, GS… the first pages in the history of rally raid were written using the ‘humble’ trailbike.

Since that time in Africa the development of trail bikes and rally raid have followed parallel pistes. The Trail Desert Challenge sees those pistes join up again.

Alongside the Rallye du Maroc at the start, at the marathon bivouac and at the finish, the Trail Desert Challenge will share the safety cover and professionalism of the team David Castera has built around him.

The precise route of the Trail Desert Challenge will be provided to participants via the ‘plug and play’ electronic road book, guiding participants for five days through ancestral Morocco. From the men of the Atlas mountains to the nomads of the desert, via the tracks of the ancient caravans, you’ll encounter fascinating people and see extraordinary scenery.

Our team and the constructors will be by your side, on the piste to accompany you whatever your level of experience. Whether you’ve come to experience your first African raid or are chasing victory via the daily challenges, the Trail Desert Challenge is made to measure for you, so that you can all share the adventure.

The renaissance of the spirit of raid…back in the place where it all began.

From 4 to 9 October 2018, come and write the next pages in the history of trailbikes.

THE JOY OF RIDING A TRAIL OR ADVENTURE BIKE IN THE MOROCCAN DESERT

Discover over 5 days, aboard your modern or classic trail bike, the roads and tracks of Morocco. Your bike takes you back to where it all began, through incredible scenery, in the company of experienced professionals. 50% piste, 40 % road and 10% off-piste, a careful mix designed to get the very best adventure out of your bike.

On the Trail Desert Challenge there’s room for everyone: a vintage class for pre-1990 bikes, classes depending on engine size, different routes depending on your level, advice from ex-factory riders, workshops at the end of the day… a variety of options for an adventure adapted to your ability and experience, an adventure made to measure for you.

THE JOY OF RIDING A TRAIL OR ADVENTURE BIKE IN THE MOROCCAN DESERT

Discover over 5 days, aboard your modern or classic trail bike, the roads and tracks of Morocco. Your bike takes you back to where it all began, through incredible scenery, in the company of experienced professionals. 50% piste, 40% road and 10% off-piste, a careful mix designed to get the very best adventure out of your bike.

On the Trail Desert Challenge there’s room for everyone: a vintage class for pre-1990 bikes, classes depending on engine size, different routes depending on your level, advice from ex-factory riders, workshops at the end of the day… a variety of options for an adventure adapted to your ability and experience, an adventure made to measure for you.

THE TRAIL DESERT CHALLENGE IN PARALLEL WITH THE RALLYE DU MAROC

5 days of adventure in parallel with the Rallye du Maroc. The start and finish towns are the same, as is the marathon bivouac under the stars, shared with the Rallye du Maroc bike category competitors. You are right there alongside the professionals and get to share their riding and preparation techniques.

Over a different route, the two events cohabit to bring the origins of rally raid full circle.

THE TRAIL DESERT CHALLENGE IN PARALLEL WITH THE RALLYE DU MAROC

5 days of adventure in parallel with the Rallye du Maroc. The start and finish towns are the same, as is the marathon bivouac under the stars, shared with the Rallye du Maroc bike category competitors. You are right there alongside the professionals and get to share their riding and preparation techniques.

Over a different route, the two events cohabit to bring the origins of rally raid full circle.

AN ELECTRONIC ROAD BOOK FROM THE FUTURE…

No more paper road books but a Tripy GPS with its own battery that will allow you to follow the itinerary prepared by our reconnaissance team. It will show you, using the same type of designs as traditional road books, the route to follow, moving automatically to the next note if you are on the right track. If you get lost it will help you get back on the right route!

In addition to guiding you, the Tripy electronic road book will record where you have been and your speed, sending your exact location every 10 minutes to our race control, so that your safety can be assured.

The Rallye du Maroc, running nearby, will provide you with helicopter medical cover, while the raid’s own medical staff will be alongside you on the piste.

AN ELECTRONIC ROAD BOOK FROM THE FUTURE…

No more paper road books but a Tripy GPS with its own battery that will allow you to follow the itinerary prepared by our reconnaissance team. It will show you, using the same type of designs as traditional road books, the route to follow, moving automatically to the next note if you are on the right track. If you get lost it will help you get back on the right route!

In addition to guiding you, the Tripy electronic road book will record where you have been and your speed, sending your exact location every 10 minutes to our race control, so that your safety can be assured.

The Rallye du Maroc, running nearby, will provide you with helicopter medical cover, while the raid’s own medical staff will be alongside you on the piste.

NO STOPWATCH BUT A RESULT

The Trai Desert Challenge isn’t a race, there’s no question of a stopwatch! So no element of speed, but a range of challenges: navigation exercises, where the winner will be the one that covers the least distance, regularity tests, bike control tests and other surprises that will pepper the route. Together they will all go towards a final result, based on the total number of points obtained overall.

NO STOPWATCH BUT A RESULT

The Trai Desert Challenge isn’t a race, there’s no question of a stopwatch! So no element of speed, but a range of challenges: navigation exercises, where the winner will be the one that covers the least distance, regularity tests, bike control tests and other surprises that will pepper the route. Together they will all go towards a final result, based on the total number of points obtained overall.

AN ADVENTURE WITH ‘A LA CARTE’ ASSISTANCE…

All forms of assistance are possible. You can enter your own assistance just for yourself or with a group of friends, benefit from the assistance from one of the manufacturers, from the partners of the Trai Desert Challenge (list to be published), or rely on the assistance put in place by the organisers and discover the solidarity of the ‘Motorcycle Trunk’ class.

AN ADVENTURE WITH ‘A LA CARTE’ ASSISTANCE…

All forms of assistance are possible. You can enter your own assistance just for yourself or with a group of friends, benefit from the assistance from one of the manufacturers, from the partners of the Trai Desert Challenge (list to be published), or rely on the assistance put in place by the organisers and discover the solidarity of the ‘Motorcycle Trunk’ class.

A RAID FAITHFUL TO ITS ORIGINS DURING THE DAY, BUT WITH MODERN COMFORT AT NIGHT…

A reflection of the many facets of the desert, the Trai Desert Challenge offers you two sides. In the day it plunges you into ‘real’ Morocco, while at night it cradles you in modern comfort. The best hotels have been selected for four nights of luxury, contrasted by two VIP bivouacs under the stars, one shared with the bike competitors in the Rallye du Maroc.

All the midday lunches will be under Berber tents in typical villages, or in the middle of the desert, with local style food provided by catering professionals.

A RAID FAITHFUL TO ITS ORIGINS DURING THE DAY, BUT WITH MODERN COMFORT AT NIGHT…

A reflection of the many facets of the desert, the Trai Desert Challenge offers you two sides. In the day it plunges you into ‘real’ Morocco, while at night it cradles you in modern comfort. The best hotels have been selected for four nights of luxury, contrasted by two VIP bivouacs under the stars, one shared with the bike competitors in the Rallye du Maroc.

All the midday lunches will be under Berber tents in typical villages, or in the middle of the desert, with local style food provided by catering professionals.

A TURNKEY EVENT

The entry fee is all inclusive, hotels, bivouacs, meals, the Tripy electronic road book, safety cover, repatriation cover, refuelling in the desert… everything is included. All you have to do is get yourself to Morocco. And we can help you get there with flights and transporting your bike, wherever you are in the world.

The concierge of the desert is open!

A TURNKEY EVENT

The entry fee is all inclusive, hotels, bivouacs, meals, the Tripy electronic road book,  safety cover, repatriation cover, refuelling in the desert… everything is included. All you have to do is get yourself to Morocco. And we can help you get there with flights and transporting your bike, wherever you are in the world.

The concierge of the desert is open!

PRICES

We offer an all inclusive price, excluding transportation of the bike which will be optional (depending on the starting point, approximately 500€) and the plane ticket.

PRICES

We offer an all inclusive price, excluding transportation of the bike which will be optional (depending on the starting point, approximately 500€) and the plane ticket.

PROGRAM TRAIL DESERT CHALLENGE 2018

March 25th 2018: presentation of the course

April 2nd 2018: registration opens

May 31st 2018: preferential rate cut off

August 31st 2018: standard rate cut off

September 15th 2018: registration closes

October 4th 2018: administrative and technical checks

October 5th to 9th 2018: Trail Desert Challenge

October 10th 2018: return flight

PROGRAM TRAIL DESERT CHALLENGE 2018

March 25th 2018: presentation of the course

April 2nd 2018: registration opens

May 31st 2018: preferential rate cut off

August 31st 2018: standard rate cut off

September 15th 2018: registration closes

October 4th 2018: administrative and technical checks

October 5th to 9th 2018: Trail Desert Challenge

October 10th 2018: return flight

3 + 6 =

ORIGINES DU RAID

Au commencement du rallye et du raid : le trail.

Lorsque Thierry Sabine s’égarait dans le désert lybien en 77 et vivait la révélation de ce qui devint le Paris-Dakar, c’était au guidon d’une Yamaha 500 XT. Hubert Auriol s’élançait un an plus tard sur ses traces au guidon d’une G/S, véritable matrice du trail chez BMW. Ténéré, Africa Twin, GS… L’Histoire du rallye-raid s’est écrite avant tout en trail.

Depuis leur création commune, en Afrique, les trajectoires du trail et du rallye-raid n’ont cessé d’emprunter des pistes parallèles. Le Trail Désert Challenge sera leur nouveau trait d’union.

En communion avec le Rallye du Maroc, au départ, lors du bivouac marathon et à l’arrivée, le Trail Désert Challenge partagera la sécurité et le professionnalisme de l’équipe réunie autour de David Castera.

Le parcours dédié aux trails déroulera son road-book électronique « plug and play » durant cinq jours pour vous plonger à la découverte du Maroc ancestral. Des hommes de l’Atlas aux nomades du désert par les traces des caravanes d’antan, les rencontres ne manqueront pas.

Nos équipes et les constructeurs seront à vos côtés, sur la piste pour vous accompagner quelque soit votre expérience. Raid initiatique ou challenge sportif au travers des défis quotidiens qui vous seront proposés, le Trail Désert Challenge est taillé sur mesure afin que, tous, partagiez l’aventure.

Afin que renaisse l’esprit du raid… à sa source.

Du 4 au 9 octobre 2018, redevenez des pionniers et écrivez la suite de l’Histoire du trail.

ORIGINES DU RAID

Au commencement du rallye et du raid : le trail.

Lorsque Thierry Sabine s’égarait dans le désert lybien en 77 et vivait la révélation de ce qui devint le Paris-Dakar, c’était au guidon d’une Yamaha 500 XT. Hubert Auriol s’élançait un an plus tard sur ses traces au guidon d’une G/S, véritable matrice du trail chez BMW. Ténéré, Africa Twin, GS… L’Histoire du rallye-raid s’est écrite avant tout en trail.

Depuis leur création commune, en Afrique, les trajectoires du trail et du rallye-raid n’ont cessé d’emprunter des pistes parallèles. Le Trail Désert Challenge sera leur nouveau trait d’union.

En communion avec le Rallye du Maroc, au départ, lors du bivouac marathon et à l’arrivée, le Trail Désert Challenge partagera la sécurité et le professionnalisme de l’équipe réunie autour de David Castera.

Le parcours dédié aux trails déroulera son road-book électronique « plug and play » durant cinq jours pour vous plonger à la découverte du Maroc ancestral. Des hommes de l’Atlas aux nomades du désert par les traces des caravanes d’antan, les rencontres ne manqueront pas.

Nos équipes et les constructeurs seront à vos côtés, sur la piste pour vous accompagner quelque soit votre expérience. Raid initiatique ou challenge sportif au travers des défis quotidiens qui vous seront proposés, le Trail Désert Challenge est taillé sur mesure afin que, tous, partagiez l’aventure.

Afin que renaisse l’esprit du raid… à sa source.

Du 4 au 9 octobre 2018, redevenez des pionniers et écrivez la suite de l’Histoire du trail.

LE PLAISIR RETROUVÉ DU TRAIL DANS LE DÉSERT MAROCAIN

Venez profiter de votre moto trail récente ou ancienne, durant 5 jours, à la découverte des routes et pistes marocaines. Votre moto revient sur les traces de sa genèse, et vous accédez à un décor de rêve encadré par une équipe de professionnels. 50 % de piste, 40 % de route et 10 % de hors-piste, un subtil mélange pour vous permettre de vivre une aventure adaptée à votre trail.

Sur le Trail Désert Challenge tout le monde a sa place : catégorie Vintage pour les motos d’avant 1990, challenge suivant les cylindrées, parcours avec variantes en fonction de votre niveau, conseils d’ancien pilotes professionnels, ateliers en fin de journée, … ces prestations à la carte permettent de vivre une aventure adaptée à votre niveau, une aventure qui vous ressemble.

LE PLAISIR RETROUVÉ DU TRAIL DANS LE DÉSERT MAROCAIN

Venez profiter de votre moto trail récente ou ancienne, durant 5 jours, à la découverte des routes et pistes marocaines. Votre moto revient sur les traces de sa genèse, et vous accédez à un décor de rêve encadré par une équipe de professionnels. 50 % de piste, 40 % de route et 10 % de hors-piste, un subtil mélange pour vous permettre de vivre une aventure adaptée à votre trail.

Sur le Trail Désert Challenge tout le monde a sa place : catégorie Vintage pour les motos d’avant 1990, challenge suivant les cylindrées, parcours avec variantes en fonction de votre niveau, conseils d’ancien pilotes professionnels, ateliers en fin de journée, … ces prestations à la carte permettent de vivre une aventure adaptée à votre niveau, une aventure qui vous ressemble.

LE TRAIL DÉSERT CHALLENGE EN PARALLELE DU RALLYE DU MAROC…

5 jours d’aventure tour à tour partagés avec le Rallye du Maroc. Les villes de départ et d’arrivée communes, le bivouac marathon sous tentes partagé avec les motards du Rallye du Maroc. Vous approcherez de près les professionnels de la discipline et partagerez avec eux les secrets de pilotage et de préparation.

Sur des parcours très différents, les deux épreuves cohabitent comme pour mieux se retrouver et revenir à leurs origines.

LE TRAIL DÉSERT CHALLENGE EN PARALLELE DU RALLYE DU MAROC…

5 jours d’aventure tour à tour partagés avec le Rallye du Maroc. Les villes de départ et d’arrivée communes, le bivouac marathon sous tentes partagé avec les motards du Rallye du Maroc. Vous approcherez de près les professionnels de la discipline et partagerez avec eux les secrets de pilotage et de préparation.

Sur des parcours très différents, les deux épreuves cohabitent comme pour mieux se retrouver et revenir à leurs origines.

UN ROAD BOOK ÉLECTRONIQUE
AVANT-GARDISTE…

Fini le bon vieux road book papier, un GPS Tripy autonome en batterie, vous permettra de suivre l’itinéraire préparée par nos équipes. Il vous indiquera sous forme de dessin traditionnel de road book, la route à suivre et basculera automatiquement sur la note suivante si vous êtes sur la bonne route. Si vous vous égarez, il vous remettra sur le bon chemin !

En plus de vous guider, ce GPS enregistrera la totalité de votre parcours et de vos vitesses puis enverra toutes les 10 minutes votre position au PC course afin d’assurer au mieux votre sécurité.

Le Rallye du Maroc, tout proche, nous permettra de bénéficier d’une couverture médicale en Hélicoptère en plus du staff médical qui sera dédié au raid.

UN ROAD BOOK ÉLECTRONIQUE
AVANT-GARDISTE…

Fini le bon vieux road book papier, un GPS Tripy autonome en batterie, vous permettra de suivre l’itinéraire préparée par nos équipes. Il vous indiquera sous forme de dessin traditionnel de road book, la route à suivre et basculera automatiquement sur la note suivante si vous êtes sur la bonne route. Si vous vous égarez, il vous remettra sur le bon chemin !

En plus de vous guider, ce GPS enregistrera la totalité de votre parcours et de vos vitesses puis enverra toutes les 10 minutes votre position au PC course afin d’assurer au mieux votre sécurité.

Le Rallye du Maroc, tout proche, nous permettra de bénéficier d’une couverture médicale en Hélicoptère en plus du staff médical qui sera dédié au raid.

PAS DE CHRONOMÈTRE MAIS UN CLASSEMENT …

Le Trail Désert Challenge n’est pas une course, il n’est jamais question de chronomètre ! Pas de vitesse mais un ensemble de challenges vous attendent : épreuves de navigation où le vainqueur sera celui ayant effectué le moins de distance, épreuves de régularité, épreuves de maniabilité, et d’autres surprises qui permettront d’établir un classement sur la base des points obtenus sur l’ensemble des épreuves.

PAS DE CHRONOMÈTRE MAIS UN CLASSEMENT …

Le Trail Désert Challenge n’est pas une course, il n’est jamais question de chronomètre ! Pas de vitesse mais un ensemble de challenges vous attendent : épreuves de navigation où le vainqueur sera celui ayant effectué le moins de distance, épreuves de régularité, épreuves de maniabilité, et d’autres surprises qui permettront d’établir un classement sur la base des points obtenus sur l’ensemble des épreuves.

UNE AVENTURE SOUS ASSISTANCE À LA CARTE…

Toutes les formes d’assistance sont possibles. Vous pouvez engager votre assistance personnelle (ou de votre équipe), bénéficier de l’assistance d’un des constructeurs partenaires du Trail Désert Challenge (liste en attente) ou encore souscrire à l’assistance mise en place par l’organisation et découvrir la fraternité des malles moto.

Quoiqu’il arrive, vos bagages seront pris en charge quotidiennement par l’organisation et transportés sur chaque étape.

UNE AVENTURE SOUS ASSISTANCE À LA CARTE…

Toutes les formes d’assistance sont possibles. Vous pouvez engager votre assistance personnelle (ou de votre équipe), bénéficier de l’assistance d’un des constructeurs partenaires du Trail Désert Challenge (liste en attente) ou encore souscrire à l’assistance mise en place par l’organisation et découvrir la fraternité des malles moto.

Quoiqu’il arrive, vos bagages seront pris en charge quotidiennement par l’organisation et transportés sur chaque étape.

RETOUR AUX SOURCES LE JOUR, TOUT LE CONFORT LE SOIR…

A l’image du désert et de ses amplitudes thermiques, le Trail Désert Challenge vous offrira deux visages. Il vous plongera le jour dans le Maroc authentique comme pour mieux vous bercer des douceurs de son confort moderne à chaque étape ralliée. Les meilleurs hôtels sont sélectionnés pour 4 nuits et deux campements VIP sous les étoiles, dont un avec les concurrents moto du Rallye du Maroc, vous ferons découvrir l’expérience du désert.

Tous les repas du midi seront pris sous les tentes berbères dans des villages typiques ou en plein désert avec une restauration couleur locale assurée par des professionnels.

RETOUR AUX SOURCES LE JOUR, TOUT LE CONFORT LE SOIR…

A l’image du désert et de ses amplitudes thermiques, le Trail Désert Challenge vous offrira deux visages. Il vous plongera le jour dans le Maroc authentique comme pour mieux vous bercer des douceurs de son confort moderne à chaque étape ralliée. Les meilleurs hôtels sont sélectionnés pour 4 nuits et deux campements VIP sous les étoiles, dont un avec les concurrents moto du Rallye du Maroc, vous ferons découvrir l’expérience du désert.

Tous les repas du midi seront pris sous les tentes berbères dans des villages typiques ou en plein désert avec une restauration couleur locale assurée par des professionnels.

UN RAID CLÉS EN MAIN …

L’engagement est all inclusive, l’hôtel, les bivouacs, les repas, le road book, le GPS, la sécurité, le rapatriement, les ravitaillements essence dans le désert, … tout est inclus dans votre inscription. Il ne vous reste plus qu’à venir au Maroc avec votre moto, mais là aussi nous pouvons gérer pour vous vos vols et le transport de votre trail où que vous soyez dans le monde.

La première conciergerie du désert est ouverte !

UN RAID CLÉS EN MAIN …

L’engagement est all inclusive, l’hôtel, les bivouacs, les repas, le road book, le GPS, la sécurité, le rapatriement, les ravitaillements essence dans le désert, … tout est inclus dans votre inscription. Il ne vous reste plus qu’à venir au Maroc avec votre moto, mais là aussi nous pouvons gérer pour vous vos vols et le transport de votre trail où que vous soyez dans le monde.

La première conciergerie du désert est ouverte !

TARIFS

Nous vous proposons un tarif all inclusive reste le transport de la moto que nous vous proposons en option (autour de 500€ en fonction du point de départ) ainsi que le billet d’avion.

TARIFS

Nous vous proposons un tarif all inclusive reste le transport de la moto que nous vous proposons en option (autour de 500€ en fonction du point de départ) ainsi que le billet d’avion.

PROGRAMME TRAIL DESERT CHALLENGE 2018

Le 25 mars 2018 :  présentation du parcours

Le 2 avril 2018 : ouverture des inscriptions

Le 31 mai 2018 : fin du tarif préférentiel

Le 31 août 2018 : fin du tarif standard

Le 15 septembre 2018 : clôture des inscriptions

Le 4 octobre 2018 : vérifications administratives et techniques

Du 5 au 9 octobre 2018 : Trail Desert Challenge

Le 10 octobre 2018 : Vol de retour

PROGRAMME TRAIL DESERT CHALLENGE 2018

Le 25 mars 2018 :  présentation du parcours

Le 2 avril 2018 : ouverture des inscriptions

Le 31 mai 2018 : fin du tarif préférentiel

Le 31 août 2018 : fin du tarif standard

Le 15 septembre 2018 : clôture des inscriptions

Le 4 octobre 2018 : vérifications administratives et techniques

Du 5 au 9 octobre 2018 : Trail Desert Challenge

Le 10 octobre 2018 : Vol de retour

8 + 3 =